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810-3-73-.01   Withholding Exemption Certificates.  

         (1)  Every employee is required to furnish his or her employer an 
Alabama withholding exemption certificate (Form A-4) at the time of employment 
showing the number of exemptions claimed. The number of exemptions claimed 
may not exceed the number of exemptions to which the employee is entitled to 
claim under Section 40-18-19, Code of Alabama 1975. 

 (a)  There are no exceptions to the above rule.  

          (b)  Federal Form W-4 will not be accepted as the values of exemption 
differ greatly between Alabama and federal allowances. 

           (c)  Failure by the employee to provide to his or her employer a signed, 
Alabama withholding exemption certificate will result in the employer withholding 
using zero (“0”) exemptions. 

         (2)     An employer is not required to deduct and withhold tax on the wages 
of an employee if the employee has certified to the employer on the withholding 
exemption certificate that the employee: 

      (a)  Incurred no liability or income tax for the prior tax year (this 
requirement will not be met if the employee did not file a return for the prior year), 
and 

         (b)  Does not expect to incur an income tax liability for the current year, 
or  

 (c)  Qualifies for exemption under the Military Spouses Residency 
Relief Act. This exemption applies to the spouse of a service member who is 
present in Alabama in compliance with military orders and who maintains 
domicile in another state. Employees should provide their employer with a valid 
military identification. Employers will report the employee’s wages on Form W2 
reflecting the state of legal residency shown on the spouses Form DD-2058 or 
current leave and earnings statement.  Employers must keep a copy of these 
forms on file.  

         (3)  If an employee is no longer entitled to an exemption from 
withholding tax as described in paragraph (2) above, the employee should submit 
to his or her employer a new Form A-4 exemption certificate reflecting the current 
number of exemptions to which they are entitled.  

  (4)  Pursuant to the requirements of Section 40-18-73, Code of 
Alabama 1975, employers must provide to the Alabama Department of Revenue, 
no later than 60 days from the date the employee begins employment, a copy of 
any withholding exemption certificates where the employee claims eight (8) or 



 

more exemptions. Failure to provide this information within the above stated time 
period shall subject the employer to the “failure to timely file” penalty of $50 per 
certificate. 

        (5) Penalties. 

        (a)  In the event the employee inflates the number of exemptions 
allowed by this Chapter on Form A-4 or falsely claims an exemption from 
withholding, the employee shall be subject to a penalty of $500 for such action 
pursuant to the provisions of Section 40-29-75, Code of Alabama 1975. 

        (b)  Any person who fails to comply with the requirements of this 
section also shall be subject to the penalties provided in Section 40-2A-11, Code 
of Alabama 1975. 
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