810-5-1-.215 Vintage Vehicle License Plates.

(2) For the purposes of this rule, the term “Vintage Vehicle license plate” shall
also include original Alabama license plate registrations authorized under Section 40-
12-297, Code of Alabama 1975.

(2)  The following activities of the owner or operator of a vehicle displaying a
Vintage Vehicle license plate satisfy the requirements of Section 40-12-290, Code of
Alabama 1975, as to vehicle use, either if:

(@) The vehicle is operated on the streets or highways for the purpose of
moving the vehicle to a location for maintenance or repair, or

(b)  The vehicle is operated in "club activities, exhibitions, tours, parades," and
can be driven to these locations for the purposes of attending these events or activities.
For purposes of Section 40-12-290, the term "club activities" shall refer to the
sponsored activities of Vintage Vehicle owner organizations, such as the Antique
Automobile Club of America, or the Model A Club of America. The term "exhibitions"
shall be deemed to refer to public displays of Vintage Vehicles and shall include antique
car shows within or without this state. The term "tours" shall be deemed to be an
organized trip comprised of several Vintage Vehicles to a predetermined location(s).
The term "parades"” is deemed to be a public procession on a festive or ceremonial
occasion.

(3) The following activities by an owner or operator of a vehicle displaying a
Vintage Vehicle license plate are outside the criteria of legal use and in conflict with the
provisions of Section 40-12-290, et seq., as amended:

(@) The use of the Vintage Vehicle license plate on a vehicle that is being
driven to school, to work, shopping, etc. This type of operation constitutes “general
transportation purposes” as this term is used in Section 40-12-290.

(b)  The use of a vehicle displaying a Vintage Vehicle license plate in any type
commercial enterprise.

(©) The use of a Vintage Vehicle license plate on a bus (with or without
passenger seats), even if privately owned and operated. Also, Section 40-12-290 does
not authorize the use of these plates on trailers, ambulances, taxis, or any other type
vehicle not specifically identified in this section.

4) Section 40-12-293, Code of Alabama,1975, provides that vehicles
registered with Vintage Vehicle license plates shall be exempt from ad valorem taxation.
Vehicles in excess of 30 years of age which are not registered with Vintage Vehicle
plates will be subject to ad valorem taxation.




(5)  October 1 shall be considered as the beginning of a new model year for
vehicles registered as Vintage Vehicles. For example, on October 1, 1996, a 1967 year
model vehicle will qualify for Vintage Vehicle license plates; on October 1, 1997, a 1968
year model qualifies, etc.

(6) Inissuing the Vintage Vehicle license plates, county issuing officials are to
collect the registration fee authorized in Section 40-12-290, the issuance fee, and any
applicable penalty or interest charges due.

(7 In the event a vehicle displaying a Vintage Vehicle license plate is sold or
otherwise disposed of, the license plate follows the vehicle to the new owner. Anyone
seeking to transfer a Vintage Vehicle registration into his/her name must provide proof
of ownership, must certify that the vehicle continues to qualify as a Vintage Vehicle; and
will be used in accordance with the provisions of the Vintage Vehicle Law (Section 40-
12-290 et seq.), pay the appropriate transfer fee and any casual sales tax due; and,
must request the transfer within the time specified in Section 40-12-260, Code of
Alabama 1975, or be subject to the transfer penalty. However, if the new owner will not
be using the vehicle in accordance with the provisions of the Vintage Vehicle law, the
new owner shall surrender the Vintage Vehicle license plate to the issuing official and
acquire a standard or distinctive license plate for the vehicle and pay the applicable
taxes and fees.

(8) Vehicles manufactured in the United States before 1954 may not have
vehicle identification numbers, and thus are to be registered using the vehicle's motor
number.

(9) Applicants will complete an application (form #MVR 40-12-290), in which
the vehicle owner certifies that he/she is the true owner of the vehicle, the vehicle
description is accurate, the identification number is correct, and the vehicle meets the
requirements within Section 40-12-290 to obtain the Vintage Vehicle license plate.
Additionally, the person(s) seeking to register the vehicle may be required to prove
ownership by providing such documents as a bill of sale, a motor vehicle registration in
the registrant's name, or a previously issued insurance policy for the vehicle in the
applicant's name.

(10) Under Section 40-12-290(d), to qualify as a Vintage Vehicle, the vehicle
must have "the original or substantially similar vehicle body, chassis, engine, and
transmission as designated for that make, model, year, and age vehicle." The vehicle
must not have been shortened/lengthened/raised/lowered from its original size when
manufactured. Furthermore, this subsection does not authorize the issuance of Vintage
Vehicle license plates to vehicles with mechanical parts and accessories of a later year
model vehicle. For example, a 1928 "Model A" Ford does not have a high performance
engine, mag tires, and advanced stereo equipment. Also, "replica” or "kit cars," which
are generally fiberglass reproductions of earlier year model vehicles, do not qualify for
Vintage Vehicle license plates.



(11) Inthe event the Vintage Vehicle license plate becomes faded or mutilated,
or otherwise difficult to read, or is lost or stolen, the owner shall apply for a replacement
Vintage Vehicle license plate, which shall be issued from the inventory of Vintage
Vehicle license plates maintained by the county issuing officials. The vehicle owner
shall pay the replacement fee provided under Section 40-12-265, Code of Alabama,
1975, and shall surrender the faded or mutilated Vintage Vehicle license plate to the
county license plate issuing official. In the event an original Alabama license plate
becomes illegible, the registrant shall promptly restore the license plate to a legible
status, or surrender the license plate to the county license plate issuing official.

(12) In the event that someone, having obtained Vintage Vehicle license
plates, decides that he/she wants to begin using the vehicle in the same manner as a
vehicle displaying standard license plates, the owner may, prior to such use, obtain the
standard license plates by paying the appropriate non-prorated registration fee and
displaying the standard license plate on the vehicle. In such cases, it will be necessary
to surrender the Vintage Vehicle license plate, provided, the owner shall not receive a
credit against the standard license plate for fees paid for the Vintage Vehicle license
plate. Ad valorem taxes will begin accruing at the time that the standard license plates
are obtained.

(13) A vehicle owner who owns an original Alabama license plate may request
that the original Alabama license plate and Vintage plate decal be registered in lieu of a
Vintage Vehicle license plate. A vehicle owner currently displaying a Vintage Vehicle
license plate may elect to register his or her vehicle with an original Alabama license
plate and Vintage plate decal by surrendering the Vintage Vehicle license plate and
paying the registration fee and issuance fee. Note that ad valorem taxes will not be
collected when surrendering a Vintage Vehicle license plate and registering an original
Alabama license plate and Vintage plate decal. A refund or credit will not be authorized
for the fees previously paid for the Vintage Vehicle license plate.

(14) The Department of Revenue will provide license plate issuing officials with
Vintage plate decals to be affixed to the original Alabama license plate, so that the
license plate number and year of the license plate will not be obstructed. The decals
will contain a number, which must be entered into the registration record as the decal
number. The decal and the motor vehicle registration receipt indicates that the vehicle
to which the license plate is issued is properly registered in accordance with Section 40-
12-297. The motor vehicle registration receipt must be retained in the vehicle for
possible presentation to law enforcement officials in accordance with the provisions of
Section 40-12-260, Code of Alabama 1975.

(15) Although Alabama has at various times issued front and rear license
plates to motor vehicles, the registration authorized under Section 40-12-297 shall be
displayed on the rear of the vehicle only.

(16) In examining an original Alabama license plate for possible issuance, the
license plate issuing official shall determine if the license plate is legible, particularly the



entire license plate number. If the license plate is rusted, paint missing, parts of the
plate are missing, holes in the plate, etc., to the degree that law enforcement would
have difficulty reading the plate from twenty feet, the issuing official shall refuse to allow
the requested license plate to be issued to the vehicle. Provided, the applicant may
subsequently restore the plate (or have the plate restored) to the degree that the plate is
legible and present the restored license plate for examination and approval by the
license plate issuing official.

(17) Furthermore, in examining an original Alabama license plate for possible
issuance, the license plate issuing official shall determine if the license plate colors are
the colors of the originally issued plate. In order to make this determination, the issuing
official may check the Department of Revenue’s website to view color pictures of
Alabama license plates from 1912 through 1976.

(18) Original Alabama license plates shall be of the category that is appropriate
to the type of vehicle being registered (examples: an Alabama automobile plate shall
not be issued to a truck or bus; an automobile plate shall not be issued to a
motorcycle). Accordingly, the issuing official may need to make inquiry to the
Department website to determine if any symbols shown on the plate are appropriate for
the type vehicle being registered.

(19) As Alabama did not issue metal license plates in 1943, a vehicle
designated as a 1943 year model may not be registered pursuant to Section 40-12-
297. Furthermore, during World War Il a decal was sometimes issued in lieu of a front
license plate; in such cases the decal may not be used as a registration pursuant to
Section 40-12-297.

(20) In the event law enforcement officials find a Vintage Vehicle license plate
being used in a manner not authorized by Section 40-12-290 et seq., said vehicle
operator may be subject to the sanctions authorized by Section 40-12-290(e)(2) and
shall forfeit the Vintage license plate or decal on the license plate issued pursuant to
Section 40-12-297.

(21) The provisions of Section 40-12-297 authorizing issuance of original
Alabama license plates or restored or refurbished Alabama plates do not include
reproductions or facsimiles of original Alabama license plates.

(22) Issuing officials may not authorize license plates with license plate
numbers exceeding seven (7) characters or displaying all zeros (0000000). All
characters to be shown on the registration receipts must be either alpha or numeric
characters.

(23) Beginning with license plates issued in 1942, Alabama license plate
numbering schemes were identical in many years. Thus, for example, a plate
numbered 47-12345 could have been issued every year from 1956 through 1976. To
eliminate the potential that two vehicles could have the same registration number, the



provisions of Section 40-12-297 have specific prohibitions against duplicate numbering,
and authorize the Department to prevent duplicate numbering by recalling duplicated
plate numbers.

Author: James Starling

Authority: Sections 40-2A-7(a)(5) 40-12-290, 40-12-293 and 40-12-297,
Code of Alabama 1975

History: New Rule: Filed January 27, 1997, effective March 3, 1997.
Amended: Filed January 11, 2011, effective February 15, 2011.
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