
810-6-3-.42.03   Sales of Certain Automotive Vehicles to Nonresidents for First Use and 

Registration or Titling Outside Alabama.  

  

(1) Effective January 1, 2016, Ssales of automobiles, motorcycles, trucks, truck 

trailers, or semitrailers that will be registered or titled outside Alabama, that are exported 

or removed from Alabama within 72 hours by the purchaser or purchaser's agent for first 

use outside Alabama are not subject to Alabama sales tax provided (i) the state sales 

tax laws of the state in which the purchaser will title or register the vehicle allows 

an Alabama resident to purchase a motor vehicle for first titling and registering in 

Alabama without the payment of tax to that state and (ii) the exempt sale is 

documented on the following form:   

  

STATE OF ALABAMA  

  

AUTOMOTIVE VEHICLE DRIVE OUT CERTIFICATE FOR NONRESIDENTS  

  

THIS FORM MUST BE EXECUTED BY BOTH THE SELLER AND THE PURCHASER 

OR PURCHASER'S AGENT AT THE TIME OF THE SALE. FORMS EXECUTED 

SUBSEQUENT TO THE TIME OF THE SALE ARE INVALID.    

  

                              PURCHASER'S NAME,  

SELLER'S NAME AND ADDRESS:                   ADDRESS, AND PHONE NO.:  

  

Name ___________________________      Name _____________________________  

Street ___________________________      Street _____________________________  

City ____________________ State ____     City ____________________ State ______ 

Zip Code ________________________      Zip Code ___________________________  

     PHONE NO.(    )                                             

  

Invoice                                          Automotive                                              Model  

No. _______________________ Vehicle Make ____________________ No. ________  

  

  

Date of Sale: ____________________________ VIN ___________________________  

  

  

Time of Sale: __________ A.M.    

  

    __________ P.M.                         

  

The facts set forth in this document are true and correct to the best knowledge and belief 

of the below-signed seller and purchaser or purchaser's agent.  

  



The automobile, motorcycle, truck, truck trailer, or semitrailer referenced above will be 

exported or removed by the purchaser or purchaser's agent from Alabama within 72 hours 

from the time of sale to the State of _________________ for first use and registration or 

titling in accordance with the laws of that state.   

  

Signature of the  Signature of Purchaser or  

Seller: __________________________   Purchaser's Agent: ______________________  

  

NOTICE:  This form does not apply to and may not be used in conjunction with the sale 

of mobile homes, all terrain vehicles, motor homes, or boats.  The 72 hour drive out 

provision does not apply to sales of these automotive vehicles.  This form does not 

apply to and may not be used for sales to non-residents when the laws of the state 

in which the non-resident will title or register the vehicle does not allow an Alabama 

resident to purchase a motor vehicle without the payment of tax to that state.  The 

tax to be collected on such sales is the two percent (2%) Alabama sales tax.  

  

FAILURE TO PROPERLY COMPLETE AND MAINTAIN THIS CERTIFICATE IN THE 

SELLER'S FILES WILL RESULT IN THE SELLER BEING HELD LIABLE FOR THE 

ALABAMA SALES TAX.  

  

(2) The certificate outlined in (1) above must be executed by both the seller and 

the purchaser or the purchaser's agent at the time of the sale. A certificate executed 

subsequent to the time of the sale shall be invalid and the Alabama sales tax shall be due 

from the seller on the sale for which the invalidated certificate was prepared.   

  

(3) The certificate outlined in (1) above, properly completed, must be retained 

in the seller's records with a copy of the corresponding sales invoice.  Both the certificate 

and the invoice shall be available for inspection or examination by the Department of 

Revenue or any authorized agent during normal business hours.  The seller will be liable 

for the Alabama sales tax on any sale for which the export exemption has been claimed 

but for which a properly executed certificate and sales invoice are not maintained in the 

seller's records.  

  

(4) A Certificate of Exemption - Out of State Delivery is not required for sales 

which qualify for the export exemption contained in Section 40-23-2(4) and for which the 

certificate outlined in (1) above is properly executed and maintained.  

  

(5) Sales of other vehicles such as mobile homes, motor bikes, all terrain 

vehicles, motor homes, and boats do not qualify for the export exemption provision and 

are taxable unless the seller can provide factual evidence that the vehicle was delivered 

outside Alabama or to a common carrier for transportation outside Alabama.   

  



(6) In the event the laws of the state in which the purchaser will title or 

register the vehicle do not allow an Alabama resident to purchase a motor vehicle 

for first titling and registering in Alabama without the payment of tax to that state, 

the sale of the automotive vehicle to the nonresident will be subject to the Alabama 

state automotive sales tax rate.  The tax collected will be state tax and will exclude 

county and municipal sales tax.  

  

(7) A list of states that do not allow a reciprocal drive-out provision for 
Alabama residents purchasing automotive vehicles for first titling and registration 
in Alabama may be viewed on the Department’s website at: 
http://www.revenue.alabama.gov/salestax/.  Such list will be published by 
December 1, 2015, and will be updated each December 1 thereafter.  Sellers that 
have relied on list information that is later determined to be incorrect shall not be 
held liable for the non-collection of the state automotive sales tax.  

  

  

  

Author:  Ginger Buchanan Dan DeVaughn  

Authority:  Sections 40-2A-7(a)(5), 40-23-2(4) and 40-23-31 , Code of      

    Alabama 1975  

History:  Adopted through APA effective January 24, 1989.  
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