
� Check here if amount due is remitted via EFT

Under penalties of perjury, I hereby certify this return to be true, complete and accurate.

Signature: ___________________________________________ Title: ______________________________ Date: ________________

Note: This return must be postmarked by the 20th of each month for the previous month. Attach check or money order payable to the
Alabama Department of Revenue for the tax due.

See instructions on the back of this return.

Taxable Tons (See Schedule, Column I) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Total Tax Due . .

Penalty Due For Failure to Timely File (10% of tax due or $50.00 whichever is greater) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

Penalty Due For Failure to Timely Pay (10% of tax due) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

Interest Due (contact the Department of Revenue for rate) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

TOTAL AMOUNT DUE . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

COMPANY NAME FEIN/SSN ACCOUNT NUMBER

ADDRESS CONTACT PERSON

CITY STATE ZIP TELEPHONE NUMBER

ALABAMA DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
BUSINESS& LICENSE TAX DIVISION

SEVERANCE & LICENSE TAX SECTION
P.O. Box 327560 • Montgomery, AL  36132-7560 • (334) 353-7827

Uniform Severance Tax Return
Title 40, Chapter 13, Article 3

FOR THE MONTH OF _______________________________, ___________
MONTH OF ACTIVITY YEAR

Online filing available at: www.MyAlabamaTaxes.alabama.gov

SUB: AUST
06/12

� Check here if new address    PRODUCER � PURCHASER �
Column A

COUNTY
CODE

Column B

COUNTY

Column D

TOTAL TONS
SOLD/PURCHASED

Column E

TAX RATE @
10 CENTS PER TON

Column F

AMOUNT DUE

Column C

MUNICIPALITY

$0.10

$0.10

$0.10

$0.10

$0.10

$0.10

$0.10

$0.10

$0.10

$0.10

$0.10

$0.10

$0.10

$0.10

$0.10



County Code County County Code County County Code County County Code County

04 Autauga 20 Colbert 38 Houston 53 Perry

05 Baldwin 21 Conecuh 39 Jackson 54 Pickens

06 Barbour 23 Covington 01 Jefferson 55 Pike

07 Bibb 24 Crenshaw 41 Lauderdale 56 Randolph

08 Blount 25 Cullman 42 Lawrence 57 Russell

09 Bullock 26 Dale 44 Limestone 58 Shelby

10 Butler 27 Dallas 45 Lowndes 59 St Clair

11 Calhoun 28 Dekalb 46 Macon 60 Sumter

12 Chambers 29 Elmore 47 Madison 61 Talladega

13 Cherokee 30 Escambia 48 Marengo 62 Tallapoosa

14 Chilton 31 Etowah 49 Marion 63 Tuscaloosa

15 Choctaw 32 Fayette 50 Marshall 64 Walker

16 Clarke 33 Franklin 02 Mobile 65 Washington

17 Clay 35 Greene 51 Monroe 67 Winston

18 Cleburne 36 Hale 03 Montgomery

19 Coffee 37 Henry 52 Morgan

Instructions for Completing
The Alabama Uniform Severance Tax Return

1. Enter the month and year of activity. 
2. Enter the company name and current mailing address. Enter your Federal Employers Identification

Number (FEIN) or your Social Security Number (SSN). If you do not know your account number, please
contact the Department. If your address has changed, please indicate such by placing a check in the box
provided. 

3. Select the box which best describes your type business. Producers server product and purchasers would
purchase the product from producers.

4. In Column A, enter the County Code (see below) for the county from which the natural minerals being
reported were severed. Attach a supplemental list, if necessary.

5. In Column B, enter the name of the county from which the natural minerals being reported were severed. 
6. In Column C, enter the name of the municipality, if tons were severed within the city limits.
7. In Column D, enter the total number of tons severed or purchased tax exempt within the county shown in

Column B. 
8. Column E shows the tax rate which is $0.10 per ton. 
9. Column F shows the results of multiplying Column D (total tons severed) by Column E which is $0.10

per ton. 
10. Add figures in Column D and show the Total Tons. 
11. Add figures in Column F and show the Total Tax Due. 
12. If the tax return is not postmarked by the 20th of the month, the penalty for failure to timely file the return

is 10% of the tax due or $50.00 whichever is greater. 
13. If payment for the tax due is not timely received, the penalty is 10% of the tax due. 
14. If the tax amount due is remitted late, contact the Alabama Department of Revenue for an interest figure. 
15. Add the total tax due plus any penalties and interest due to determine the Total Amount Due. 
16. Sign the return and mail the return and the Total Amount Due to the Alabama Department of Revenue,

P.O. Box 327560, Montgomery, AL 36132-7560.

County Codes to be listed in Column A of the return:


